TV Newbies 2011/2012 – Four Suggestions

Homeland
This one is based on an israeli series called Hatufim (Prisoner of War) and it’s about the CIA agent Carrie Mathison (Claire Danes) who – long story short – believes that an American marine, who has been held captive by Al-Quaeda for 8 years, was turned by the enemy and is now a national threat. It is both a spy movie and a psychological thriller. Not only we are taken into the CIA investigation, we also see how the marine and his family deal with the sudden comeback. Also, we get to know Mathison and her weaknesses. So yes, it’s about terrorism and politics. But it is also about double face and human frailty. Overall, I think it is really well written and never banal. Suprising turning points end each episode, so you (or at least, I), cannot help but getting hooked. On Sundays on Showtime, right after our old friend Dexter.

Pan Am
Multi-strand narration about pilots and stewardesses working for the iconic airline Pan Am during the 60s. Lots of romance and drama… exactly what you expect on ABC right before Desperate Housewives. Is there anything better to watch on Sunday nights? Of course there is, on Showtime, on HBO and on AMC. Do I care about that? Nope, because I’m organized. So I can afford to be a silly romantic girl who watches soap-oper-ish series. Aside from sappy romance, anyway, what I love about this show is the historic background. 60s are so fascinating, so iconic. And sometimes, the stewardesses’ stories mingle with true events, like Kennedy’s visit in Berlin on 1963, or France occupation by the Nazis. Funny, light and easy. But worth watching. BTW, I really hope that it’s going to be renewed. Ratings were not that great, but I heard that DVRs are saving the day… Fingers crossed! PS: girlish moment: who is your favorite character? I LOVE Colette!

American Horror Story

I have to thank Fogs for this one. The story is about a haunted house. Do I need to say more? From here, you can picture all the creepy, scary, gory, even kinky stuff that comes to your mind. Sheer horror… Love it. I mean, the show has its flaws and it is definitely not the best horror thing ever. But until now is not boring and there’s lot of blood. The cast is first class: Dylan McDermott (and his perfectly shaped ass, on the pilot), Connie Britton (from Friday Night Lights), Dennis O’Hare (True Blood‘s beloved Russel Edgington) and oh-so-creepy Jessica Lange and Frances Conroy.  The direction is very disturbing. BTW, one of the creators is Brad Falchuck, from Nip/Tuck and Glee. Wednesdays on FX.

Once Upon a Time

What happens after Snow White and her prince get married? The Evil Queen/Wi

tch takes the fairy-tale world and all its inhabitants to… the real world. Right outside Boston, to be precise. And the baby Snow White and her prince had is Jennifer Morrison, House‘s Cameron. As usual, there’s a lot more going on in the series than in the plot I tried to summarize, but this should be enough to give you an idea. The pilot was aired last Sunday and, as it appears, it was a ratings success. I really enjoyed it… It’s kind of Enchanted-like, but darker. It’s actually early to say anything serious (I haven’t “liked” it on facebook yet!), but I hope that the producers are going to keep up the good work.

 

20 comments on “TV Newbies 2011/2012 – Four Suggestions

  1. SO glad you’re watching American Horror Story, isn’t it awesome? I mean, you’re right, its not perfect, its just so creepy and pervy and I’m always wondering how they can get away with it on tv, and it has some genuine scary moments… I’m in, bigtime.

    I can’t believe Pan Am is actually good. For real?

    I cracked up that you consider “Liking” a TV show’s Facebook page “Serious”. LOL!! Thats some funny stuff…

    Homeland has been getting a lot of great buzz, but I’m finding my tv time is limited. I even “dropped” Dexter. How’s that this season, BTW?

    • Jaina says:

      Dropped Dexter?! Noo! I’m loving this season. Great cast and a solid theme this season. I know a lot of people think Dexter has done all it can, and sometimes they could be right. But I still think Dexter’s got a lot more growing he can do, especially now he has Harrison.

      • Jersey says:

        Yeah, I love this season too (so far)! How could you drop it?!
        Pan Am is not really “good”, it’s ok, if you like the “chick flick” genre.
        BTW, I always skip American Horror Story’s opening credits because they gives me nightmares!

      • Jaina says:

        The opening credits are kinda terrifying, aren’t they?! I think it’s the combination of the weird baby photos and the jarring opening theme tune.

        Also the childrens photos reminds me of how I felt when I used to watch the X-Files opening credits as a child. As a child, they scared me. Now… they seem a bit casual!

    • Dropped a bunch of shows. Dropped “Boardwalk Empire”, too.

      I just found that with all the time I’m spending blogging, these shows were PILING UP in my DVR. So rather than deal with “DVR Guilt” I said see ya.

      Personally, Dexter has never been as good as it was in the first two seasons – although obviously I cant speak for this season. Season 1 was GREAT, Season 2 was very good, and then its been a case of varying degrees of disappointing seasons, all building up to excellent final few episodes… I dunno. It was on life support for me for awhile I think anyways.

      • Jaina says:

        You missed out on the epic John Lithgow season! That season almost topped the first season as a favourite. Amazing.

        Boardwalk Empire’s always a bit iffy for me. It’s great when it’s great. But it’s such a slow boil of a show. By the end of the first season I loved it. Now beginning of the second, I’m finding it a struggle again.

      • Jersey says:

        John Lithgow rocks! I think season 4 was ALMOST as awesome as season 1. Season 5 started pretty well, but then it definitely jumped the shark on episode 6. Let’s just forget about season 3. But overall my wholehearted love for Dexter Morgan can overcome any bad season.

        As for BE, I can afford to skip some episodes every once in a while, and then catch them up later. It’s really well done but too slow, though sometimes it has its peaks. I like it, but I’m not really hooked.

      • Jaina says:

        Jersey, that’s the exact reason why I can stick with Dexter – Dexter himself! Season 3… you know, I think I’ve almost wiped it from memory. Yeah, it was distinctly below average for Dexter. All over the place.

      • No, I saw season four. (The Lithgow one)

        Here’s the thing about that one. We all remember how awesome the end was, and what a sick final few episodes it had… but I think the rest of the season was really awkward and weird, with Dexter pretending to be “Kyle” and getting close to Lithgow and his hostage family… just… not good…

        But of course, like the final three or four episdoes when the gloves came off were great.

        Really, its all just a function of time now. I’d still be watching it if I were watching as much tv as I was pre-blog…

      • Jaina says:

        I’m seriously beginning to reconsider my tv viewing. I literally am running out of time. I used to be able to fit everything in, including all the old shows I’m catching up on. Not anymore, not anymore!

        I just started watching Boss, which is excellent, but thinking whether I can fit it in :(

      • Jersey says:

        I feel for you. It’s in mondays like this that I think the same thing: I have 10 episodes to watch today (Misfits 3 has finally begun!) and a real life to take care of. Messy.
        Anyway, at least we have a real life we’re worried about… Could have been worst!

  2. Jaina says:

    Homeland is my favourite new show I think. I think that might be mostly down to it flying a little bit under the radar for me. I knew I was going to give it a try, but had no real idea of what it was going to be like. Think the opening titles on it are amazing too – sums up the show brilliantly.

    Pan Am I’m really not sure about. I love that it’s light hearted but it just feels like it’s relying on its looks more than anything now. Also, I want there to be a show set in the past that doesn’t try and shoe horn every major historical event into episode plots.

    The pilot for Once Upon a Time warmed my heart a little. It felt a little SyFy-esque at points and was wondering if I was going to end up watching another Alice! But I think it might just do good. Anyway, it was a lot better than the other fairytale themed pilot – Grimm. That was awful!

    • Jersey says:

      I totally agree about Grimm! I just couldn’t stand it. And yeah, Once Upon… warmed my heart too. Sometimes, fairy tales are just what it takes to feel good for an hour.

      • Jaina says:

        I just hope OUAT can keep it up. I can imagine it might get too saccharine coated. I think as my hopes were so low for it, it was a nice surprise that it was kinda enjoyable!

  3. here I am! :)
    Pan Am, I’m really loving it! and I don’t think that it’s just a girl series. It’s well written, directed and played. There are so many cues about different genres: spy story, war, chick, drama…
    and by the way I LOVE Maggie! :D

    I saw OUAT on monday and i enjoyed it, can be interesting but it’s too soon to say something, will see.

    I’ve not seen the others two yet but they’re listed, maybe a full immersion when other series pause! :)

  4. Jaina says:

    2nd episode of Once Upon a Time has made me rethink my initial thoughts on the show – really didn’t like it at all! Close to dropping now.

  5. yes CG was horrific, but isn’t it always like that when it’s about magic and wizards? (Harry Potter doesn’t count)…
    I liked the second episode, but it’s true that there are still a lot of plot holes, I say another time will see!

    • Jaina says:

      I don’t think it is.Though trying to think of a show with magic and wizards and some such and good CG is a little hard now! Hmmm. There has to be something!

      3rd episode and something about it keeps making me want to give it another chance!

Leave a Reply

