Me, Myself and The Avengers

When I started this blog, I wanted it to be less personal as possible. Well, I know that when it comes to film I can get very personal, but I just wanted it to be a place where I could write and share my thoughts without being strictly academic (for those of you who haven’t realized it yet, I’m a film scholar). And where I could virtually meet people who wanted to do the same.

Last night I saw The Avengers (yes, Americans: it has been released in Italy one week before the States!!! Yay for Italian distribution! BTW, this doesn’t make up for all the other very disappointing cases). I obviously have to write something, not only because I’ve been waiting for this films for years, but above all because it is a great movie, definitely worthy. So here I am, in front of this blank page, thinking about the right and catchy way to start the post. But the only thing that comes to my mind right now, is very personal. So I have to give up my initial resolution.
Few days ago, one of the most important persons in my life suddenly passed away. It was a shock, and I literally couldn’t get out of bed for a couple of days. I know that shit happens, but it hurts all the same: I’ve never experienced such a pain. Then, friends reminded me that The Avengers, the film we’ve been dreaming about since we were kids, was about to be released. Firstly, I decided not to go for the moment. But then I thought: this has to be overcome, somehow. So I resolved that going to see The Avengers could be a good start.
I was right. The Avengers did what film are meant for: it entertained me and it took me out of the real world for 140 minutes. It made me laugh and it made me enjoy time out of the bed. It just brought me back to life. The pain is still here and always will, I think. But at least I was reminded that there still can be good moments in life.
As for the movie itself… Yeah, that was freaking awesome! Joss Whedon perfectly managed a very complex multistrand narration, equally distributing time and space to all of the different leading characters. Leading characters who, actually, were also supporting one another.
Guys, hurry up and go see what entertainment is really about! 

8 comments on “Me, Myself and The Avengers

  1. Jaina says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss :(

    It’s funny how films can, not just be a distraction, but give you that little bit of joy you sometimes need.

    It’s out here today, so off to see it after work. Can’t wait!

    Oh, and fully approve of your current Hero up there!

  2. Sorry to hear about your loss.

    Distracting yourself now and then from the grief is important, so I’m glad you went to see this. Also glad you enjoyed it, both for your sake and because I was hoping it would be good.

  3. sanclementejedi says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss friend. No shame in taking your time to heal.

    I really loved that Avengers film, so much so, that I am going back today for a second helping.

  4. Jersey says:

    Thank you.
    It takes time, but I’m feeling a little better already.

    BTW, re-re-watch ahead for me!

Leave a Reply

