Hugo Cabret (2011)

Yeah, I do reckon that this post comes a little late. But you know… Italian releases and my dissertation are not helping me out on this one. Anyway, Hugo Cabret has finally come out in here too and I’ve also finished writing my grad thesis, so I’m ready to come back to my blog-life. And yep, I’ve been missing you all, guys!

I saw Hugo Cabret on Valentine’s Day and I must say the timing was perfect. I mean, I spent the night of Love’s Day (which I usually despise, but that’s another story) with Martin Scorsese. I spent the night of Love’s Day with George Méliès. I spent the night of Love’s Day with a little boy who, just like me, is absolutely crazy about movies. Summing it up: I spent the night of Love’s Day with my Love for cinema.
Surely it’s not a flawless film – a little too long, sometimes even to sappy, editing not as perfect as you expect from a Scorsese movie – but overall, I enjoyed it. I felt like a little kid watching The Magic happening on the screen. Yeah, I did feel like Hugo so, dear Mr. Scorsese, mission accomplished: through that kid you perfectly represented all of us film-lovers. You perfectly represented yourself. By the way: not only this movie made me appreciate Valentine’s Day (at least for a little more than a couple of hours), it also made appreciate 3D. It was actually kind of painful because I forgot to wear lenses so I had to wear two pairs of glasses for 137 minutes. But that’s just me to blame. So, do you know why I enjoyed it, nevertheless? Because the film was made for 3D. Apart from the technical perfection, I felt like Mr. Scorsese made us put on our supercool and super-21st century 3D glasses in order to watch the 1930s viewers on the screen watching us back. And, as we viewers watch each other, we feel like two reflections of a mirror. As if to say that, you know, love for films is transcendent, no matter where and when you live.

That’s why Hugo Cabret is a great love movie.

8 comments on “Hugo Cabret (2011)

  1. Jaina says:

    I didn’t catch Hugo when it hit screens here. Just missed it! 😦 It does sound like a love letter to film from one of the greatest directors of our time. Can’t wait to see it.

    • Jersey says:

      I think this movie does its best in 3D… Pity you missed it! But it’s definitely worth a watch anyway. If you like films, you can’t help but love Hugo too!

  2. I felt just the same tonight, thank you, thank you Martin!

  3. Welcome Back Jersey, glad you finally got to see this one.

    “I felt like Mr. Scorsese made us put on our supercool and super-21st century 3D glasses in order to watch the 1930s viewers on the screen watching us back. And, as we viewers watch each other, we feel like two reflections of a mirror. ”

    Wow, that’s a trippy sentence. 😀 True though!

  4. 3guys1movie says:

    I think you liked this film a lot more than I did. The pacing of this film and lack of editing drove me to distraction. I did however thoroughly enjoy the surprising performance of Sasha Baron Cohen.

    Glad to hear that your dissertation is finished, congrats!

    • Jersey says:

      Thanks guys!

      Yeah, that’s another flaw: a very slow pace. But overall I was overwhelmed by the story itself and what it meant for me. Honestly, I have a very personal opinion about this film, more than an objective one. And yes, I loved Baron Cohen too!

Leave a Reply

